Pedersen wins his third stage, the quiet Evenepoel

Pedersen wins his third stage, the quiet Evenepoel

Pedersen wins his third stage, the quiet Evenepoel

Aurélie SACCHELLI, Media365, published on Friday 9 September 2022 at 5:30 pm

Former world champion Mads Pedersen took his third victory at the Vuelta, winning the penultimate stage in the sprint, ahead of Fred Wright. Quiet day for Remco Evenepoel’s red jersey.

And three for Mads Pedersen! Since the abandonment of Sam Bennett, who reigned at the start of the Vuelta, the Dane is clearly the best sprinter of this Tour of Spain 2022 and, after the 13th and 16th stages, he won the 19th stage this Friday. The former world champion won in the sprint ahead of Briton Fred Wright, who therefore lost a great opportunity to pay tribute to Queen Elizabeth II, and ahead of Belgian Gianni Vermeersch. Thus, at the age of 26, he signed his 27th career victory, his ninth this season, and consolidated his green jersey, which he will wear on Sunday in Madrid, subject to abandonment. Remco Evenepoel’s red jersey, who finished 40th in the leading group which had 55 elements, did not worry on this day.

An escape of three runners to liven up the day

This stage located between two great days in the mountains, with a particular profile with a ring around Talavera de la Reina and two climbs of Puerto del Pielago (2nd category), at the 30th and 95th km, will not have been very rich in show. The breakaway of the day was formed after ten kilometers, with Jonathan Caicedo (EF Education-EasyPost), Brandon McNulty (UAE Team Emirates) and Ander Okamika (Burgos-BH), and the latter cut the first peak. Behind, Lawson Craddock, Chris Harper and Mikel Bizkarra, who had started against, were captured by the group on the way down. Under the impetus of Bahrain Victorious and Movistar, the gap with the three fugitives decreased rapidly, and they were caught 49 kilometers from the finish. Richard Carapaz took the opportunity to consolidate his polka dot jersey by overcoming the second peak. And then ? Nothing more until the final sprint won by Mads Pedersen, after a good job by his Trek-Segafredo team. On Saturday serious things will resume during the penultimate stage, with arrival at the top of Puerto de Navacerrada, after having climbed two other first category passes during the day. One last effort for Remco Evenepoel …

Stage 19 – Talavera de la Reina – Talavera de la Reina (138.3 km) – Friday 9 September 2022
1- Mads Pedersen (DAN / Trek-Segafredo) in 3h19’11
2- Fred Wright (GBR / Bahrain Victorious) mt
3- Gianni Vermeersch (BEL / Alpecin-Deceuninck) mt
4- Ben Turner (GBR / Ineos Grenadiers) mt
5- Mike Teunissen (PBS / Jumbo Visma) mt
6- Jonas Koch (GER / Bora-Hansgrohe) mt
7- Omer Goldstein (ISR / Israel Premier Tech) mt
8- Raul Garcia Pierna (ESP / Kern Pharma) mt
9- Miguel Angel Lopez (COL / Astana Qazaqstan) mt
10- Dylan Van Baarle (PBS / Ineos Grenadiers) mt

22- Simon Guglielmi (FRA / Arkéa-Samsic) mt

General classification after 19 stages (out of 21)
1- Remco Evenepoel (BEL / Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl) in 73h18’23
2- Enric Mas (ESP / Movistar) at 2’07
3- Juan Ayuso (ESP / UAE Team Emirates) at 5’14
4- Miguel Angel Lopez (COL / Astana Qazaqstan) at 5’56
5- Carlos Rodriguez (ESP / Ineos Grenadiers) at 6’49
6- João Almeida (POR / UAE Team Emirates) at 7’14
7- Thymen Arensman (PBS / DSM) at 8’09
8- Ben O’Connor (AUS / AG2R-Citroën) at 9’34
9- Rigoberto Uran (COL / EF Education-Easypost) at 9’56
10- Jai Hindley (AUS / Bora-Hansgrohe) at 12’03

19- Thibaut Pinot (FRA / Groupama-FDJ) at 45’00

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.