Serie A – VAR, reds and chaos: but what happened between Juve and Salernitana?

Serie A – VAR, reds and chaos: but what happened between Juve and Salernitana?

Serie A – VAR, reds and chaos: but what happened between Juve and Salernitana?

What happened ?

We contextualize. Whistled, led on the counterattack by Salernitana (0-2, then 1-2) and on the edge of the precipice after a catastrophic performance, Juventus tore to equalize in extra time on a penalty converted twice by Leonardo Bonucci (2-2, 90 ° + 2). Two minutes later the unthinkable happens: Arkadiusz Milik shoots an uncrossed header on the near post from the corner and thinks he will give the victory to his team (90 ‘+ 4).

A league

The controversy: Deprived of the victory by the VAR, Juve is furious

18 HOURS AGO

The former OM striker, previously cautioned, rejoices, takes off his shirt, takes the second yellow and then sees the red. The central referee, Matteo Marcenaro, is then called by the video assistance, which asks him to wait before validating the goal. Leonardo Bonucci would have intervened in the path of the ball, and in an offside position, even if the Italian defender did not seem to touch the ball. Surrounded by the players of the two teams, who will almost go to blows, Mister Marcenaro goes to the Allianz Stadium screen. After witnessing the action in less than ten seconds, he decides to cancel the goal, causing real chaos.

Was Bonucci offside?

This is obviously the big question. In this new era of video assistance, however, it would not be necessary. But quickly, the screenshots spread on social media, especially on journalists present at the stadiums. In drawing the lines to determine the position of the Italian international, considered in active position on the goal, the VAR would have forgotten to take into account the position of Antonio Candreva, near the corner post at the moment of Milick’s header. Sky Italia reconstructed the episode. In his alleged offside position, Bonucci’s right foot would be 3.42m from the goal line. That of Candreva at 2.90 m. If this omission is confirmed, we are therefore talking about an unjustly canceled goal … for more than half a meter.

Bonucci is judged to be in an active position when he does not touch the ball and does not interfere with defenders or goalkeepers. Disconcerting decision, especially for Candreva’s position which seems to keep everyone at stake. The VAR rates, but no TV picture shows the lines as a result (…) The 3-2 looks valid“, Writes the day’s edition of The Gazzetta dello Sport. The Serie A League confirmed on a daily basis that Candreva’s position was taken into consideration, although no images were released.

Who was excluded?

After the scuffle, with 47 people on the lawn, but with the morale still warm, the referee of the evening decided to exclude, in the wake of the canceled goal, Juan Cuadrado (Juve) and Federico Fazio (Salernitana). The Old Lady closes the game 9 to 10. Outside of him, after the goal canceled, Massimiliano Allegri, the Juve coach, is also excluded in a big way.

Why was Milik’s red confirmed?

Simply because the regulation provides for it. His goal may have been disallowed, but the Polish forward could not see his second yellow card disallowed. Milik, in addition to having taken off his shirt for a goal definitively canceled, was therefore excluded. Decidedly…

https://i.eurosport.com/2022/09/11/3452116.jpg

What were the reactions?

Bad, of course. On the side of Juve, it is difficult to digest this epilogue. Of course, the report made on Sunday evening by Max Allegri and his men deserves many comments. But the winning goal had been scored. “Candreva’s position keeps me in the gameannoyed Leonardo Bonucci after the meeting. I hope it has been taken into consideration. And even so, I’m not influential in the action even though the referee told me otherwise. In any case, my position is not active. “”I would like to see the full pictures, with this position of Candreva in the lower left corner“, he followed in the footsteps of his coach, who still wanted to greet a referee who judged”Very good“he’s able to”making such a decision in such a delicate moment“.

https://i.eurosport.com/2022/09/11/3452134.jpg

Can the game be repeated?

The answer is simple: no. The rules of the IFAB (International Football Association Board) are clear: no “mistake“of the VAR cannot be considered as”technician“, which would lead to the cancellation of the result and the repetition of the match. The score will therefore remain 2-2.

Champions League

Four Juventus fans arrested for inciting racial hatred

09/07/2022 at 10:53

Champions League

Neymar-Mbappé’s recital: “This is what football is: to see great players play”

09/07/2022 At 00:38

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.